Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble Concert

Thursday, December 2, 2021 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.

UCF's Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band present a free concert. This performance will feature three powerful works, all of which share a message of solemn remembrance and resolve.

Included in the Symphonic Band’s portion of the program is a piece entitled Into the Silent Land by American composer Steven Danyew. The piece reflects on the Sandy Hook Elementary School tragedy of 2012, blending elements of a funeral march and lament. Near its end, a moving poem is read by narrator over the final musical sounds.

The second half of the Wind Ensemble’s program includes two very powerful compositions by African American composers. The first piece, American Guernica by Adolphus Hailstork, commemorates the 1963 church bombing in Birmingham, AL, while the second, Of Our New Day Begun by Omar Thomas, reacts to the 2015 shooting at the Mother Emmanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, SC. These two moving pieces, performed without pause, will be framed by audio excerpts from Martin Luther King, Jr’s and President Obama’s eulogies following each tragedy.

Free admission, no ticket required.


Symphonic Band, Dr. Tremon Kizer, Conductor, Malcolm Burke, Graduate Conductor

  • Variants On a Medieaval Tune by Norman Dello Joio
  • Into the Silent Land by Steven Danyew
  • Kingfishers Catch Fire by John Mackey

Wind Ensemble, Dr. Scott Lubaroff, Conductor, Scott Mullen, Graduate Conductor

  • Nitro by Frank Ticheli
  • …and in this dream there were eight windows by Timothy Mahr
  • Huntingtower Ballad by Ottorino Respighi
  • American Guernica by Adolphus Hailstork
  • Of Our New Day Begun by Omar Thomas
Read More


UCF Pegasus Ballroom [ View Website ]


Scott Lubaroff


CAH Events




Music wind ensemble UCF School of Performing Arts symphonic band Concert